Early Years Foundation Stage

Here at Precious Times we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. This covers children’s development and learning from birth to 5 years. The EYFS is designed to deliver improved outcomes for all children, across every area of learning and development.

The EYFS is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born their early years experiences should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure to support their learning and development.


The EYFS sets out:

  • The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements which are the legal aspects that all childcare providers must adhere to, to keep your child safe and promote their welfare; this includes ratio's health and safety and administration of medication.
  • The 7 areas of Learning and Development.
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS.
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the 'Early Learning Goals'


Here at Precious Times your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through the 7 areas of learning and development.


We develop the 3 prime areas first as those are the most essential for your child’s holistic development and future learning. These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical
  • Personal, Social and Emotional

As your child grows, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in the 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


For further information about EYFS please click on the links below:



Here at Precious Times we use the Developmental Matters 'Plan-Observe- Assess' cycle to plan efficiently for your child.


We use the EYFS 7 areas of learning to plan your child’s learning and activities. The staff make observations from the activities and identify next steps to enable them to plan new experiences / opportunities for your child to develop those next steps in their learning.


The staff meet together each week to plan for all your child’s needs, taking into account those identified next steps as well as your child's needs and interests. This enables us to provide an exciting, engaging play based experience for each child.


Children's Learning Jornals

Your child's time with us is recorded in their online Learning Journals. The staff take pictures, observe what your child does and link those activities into to the EYFS.


Here at Precious Times we use the 2 Simple online system which allows us to email those observations straight to you each month, keeping you informed on how your child is developing and making progress in their learning.

Telephone numbers:

Precious Times


01472 340800


Precious Times

Laceby Acres: 01472 872143

Print Print | Sitemap
© Precious Times Childcare Ltd